When and how to archive or delete campaign links

 

Archiving or deleting campaign links is an interesting topic. Everyone messes up a landing page at some point in time and wishes to reuse that perfectly balanced alias that was just used (imagine landing lickst.at/your-brand). Sometimes, we simply wish to delete a campaign link permanently. And we definitively all love eliminating clutter in our lives. It is said most marketing campaigns these days have very short lifespans. Lickstats’ has us covered!

 
 
 

When to archive vs delete a campaign link

 

Archiving campaign links helps you eliminate clutter while preserving your stats. This means you cannot reuse the alias of archived campaign links.

Deleting campaign links, on the other hand, permanently deletes the campaign links in question, therefore you can reuse their aliases. That being said, if a campaign link has been published, it’s bad practice to reuse its alias. Here’s why. Facebook and other platforms save the redirection of shared links for some time (in technical words, they cache the redirection). This means that even though you change the landing page for an alias, people will not always land where you expect.

 

How to archive a campaign link

 

STEP 1 - Click on the campaign link you wish to archive.

 

STEP 2 - Click on the ellipsis menu (…). Then click on Archive.

 

How to unarchive a campaign link

 

STEP 1 - Click on ARCHIVED to show archived campaign links. Use search (if necessary) to search your campaign links, then click on the campaign link you wish to unarchive.

 

STEP 2 - Click on the ellipsis menu (…) and click on Unarchive.

 

How to delete a campaign link

 

STEP 1 - Click on the campaign link you wish to delete.

 

STEP 2 - Click on the ellipsis menu (…) and click on Delete….

 

STEP 3 - Click on DELETE CAMPAIGN LINK. This operation will permanently delete the campaign link and all associated stats.

 
Sun Knudsen